Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | September 25, 2007

A walk in our Blessed Mother’s Footsteps (written on Immaculate Conception Last Year)

Friday is the feast of the Immaculate Conception.
To me to reflect on such a thing is to realize the power of Our Lord.
Something to think about: Gabriel went to Mary and said “Hail, Full of Grace’ (Lk 1:28). Keep in mind where the angel is on the hierarchy, (That’s another discussion, the 10 Choirs (or 9, I forget, but we’re the last, I know that much)) To say something like “full of grace” had to mean something extremely important. I don’t know if any angel would apporach any one of us and say “full of grace!”
Since Mary is “full of Grace” something special must of happned to her. What was the special thing done to her. She was protected from Original Sin. This should make since since She is Jesus’ Mother. and Jesus is God. God in advance did his saving work on Mary. (Let’s face it, Mary Couldn’t of done this on her own)
Her Prayer reminds us of what we all should be the Magnificat Lk 1:46-55 (DRB)
“My soul doth magnify the Lord. And my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour. Because He hath regarded the lowliness of His handmaid. For behold from henceforth all generations shall call me blessed. For he that is mighty hath done great things to me, and holy is His Name. And His mercy is from generation unto generations to them that fear Him. He hath showed might with His arm. He hath scattered the proud in the conciet of their heart. He hath put down the mighty from their seat, and hath exalted the lowly. He hath filled the hungry with good thing and the rich He sent away empty. He hath recieved Isreal His servant being mindful of his mercy. As he spoke to our fahters, to Abraham, and to his seed forever. Amen!”
It’s something that I pray everyday (well, I can’t miss it, it’s in my wallet :), but of course that’s not the reason I pray it)
To me it’s absolutely amazing that He used a humble Virgin Mary to concieve his only Son.
Humility is a quality I really admire in everyone. It’s a very difficult thing to do. And it it not always done by lowering yourself, for example saying that you’re not something. It’s great to say once in a while. The humble thing to do would be to say that it’s a gift from God. It takes humility to submit to the will of God. Sometimes that is something that I forget, I have the habit of lowering myself, because I don’t like all the recognition that comes with being good at something. I’d much rather do my business quietly. But of course you can’t go unoticed forever.
As I hope that all of us when Friday comes, Realize the power of our God, that He can do things for everyone. :). Hopefully you all enjoyed my little blab.
May the Peace and Grace of the Lord be with you always. My thoughts and prayers are with each and everyone of you.
Joe.
Immaculate Heart of Mary: Pray for us.
Our Lady of Lourdes: Pray for us.
Our Lady of Guadalupe: Pray for us.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

