Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | September 25, 2007

The One Catholic Church

Time to give you guys a little bit of education. A lot of people think that the Catholic Church is the Roman Catholic Church. This is absolutely not true at all. Roam Catholic refers to the rite of the Church.
A rite usually refers to the traudition, or the cuture that it’s under.
The different Catholic rites are as follows: Latin (aka Roman), Ambrossian, Byzantine (Melekite, Romanian,, Italo-Abanian, Ukranian, Russian Rutherian), Alexandrian (or Coptic), Syriac, Armenian, Maronite, Chaldean,
These rites are just as much of a part of the Catholic Church as the Roman rite. Many people don’t realize this because of the majority of the Catholic Church being of the Roman rite.
Something to remember, that the Catholic Church is not just the Roman rite.
All these Churches, rites, are under the juristiction of the Bishop of the Rome (the Pope).
All of them recognize him as the vicar of Christ, and the head of the Universal Church.
Look through any document throught Church history, none of them will say by the Roman Catholic Church! They will all say of the CATHOLIC CHURCH, the ONE, HOLY, CATHOLIC, APOSTOLIC CHURCH!
The oneness refers to the doctorines of the Church, not the way of expressing their faith (through the liturgy)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: