Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | September 25, 2007

Transubstantiation

What it is, is the moment when the bread and wine become the Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of our Lord Jesus Christ.
Many of the old school Catholics will say that the words of consecration MUST say “for many”…But I will explain the error in this, and when transubstantaion occurs.
In the Gospel of St. Matthew Ch. 26 verse 26-28 it states: And whilst they were at supper, Jesus took bread, and blessed, and broke: and gave to his disciples, and said: Take ye, and eat. This is my body.And taking the chalice, he gave thanks, and gave to them, saying: Drink ye all of this.For this is my blood of the new testament, which shall be shed for many unto remission of sins.
In The Gospel of St. Mark Ch. 14:22-24 state: And whilst they were eating, Jesus took bread; and blessing, broke, and gave to them, and said: Take ye. This is my body. And having taken the chalice, giving thanks, he gave it to them. And they all drank of it. And he said to them: This is my blood of the new testament, which shall be shed for many.
In the Gospel of St. Luke 22:19-20: And taking bread, he gave thanks, and brake; and gave to them, saying: This is my body, which is given for you. Do this for a commemoration of me. In like manner the chalice also, after he had supped, saying: This is the chalice, the new testament in my blood, which shall be shed for you.
In the 1st Letter of St. Paul to the Corinthians 11:24-25: And giving thanks, broke, and said: Take ye, and eat: this is my body, which shall be delivered for you: this do for the commemoration of me. In like manner also the chalice, after he had supped, saying: This chalice is the new testament in my blood: this do ye, as often as you shall drink, for the commemoration of me.
In mass, the following words are said “On the night he was betrayed, he took the bread, and gave you thanks and praise and said “Take this all of you and eat it, this is my body which will be given up for you. In the same way he took the cup, again he gave you thanks and praise and said “Take this all of you and drink from it, this is my blood, the blood of the new and everlasting covenant, it will be shed for you and for all so that sins may be forgiven. Do this in memory of me”
We notice that the accounts that we have only mention the “for many” twice. What does this mean? We know that Paul’s letters to the Corinthians were written before the Gospels. It means that the part after this is my blood, is extra, and isn’t part of the consecration. (The reason why the bells are rung at the end is because of the fact that I’d be kind of rude to have the bells go off while the priest is saying the words of institution)
If you truly believe transubstantiation, then the moment of consecration comes at the “This is my body” and “This is my blood” not at the end of the statements 🙂
Amen!

Leave a Reply

Categories

