Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | February 24, 2008

Abp. Ranjith on Communion in the Hand.

He’s becoming one of my favorites at the Vatican, for quotes like these:

“We need to recover the sense of the sacred. I speak only for myself, but I am convinced of the urgency of reviewing the practice of Communion given in the hand, returning to giving the particle to the faithful directly in the mouth, without them touching it, reinforcing thereby that in the Eucharist there is really Jesus and that everyone must receive Him with devotion, love and respect.”

Absolutely right! Communion in the Hand is a reason for the lack of Faith in the Real Presence!

Beyond the office I occupy in the Vatican, as a Catholic I ask myself and wonder: why be ashamed of God? Kneeling at Communion would be an act of humility and recognition of our nature as children of God.

Yes, kneeling before God! I respond to that challenge when I kneel before God in the NO Mass.
Leave a Reply

Categories

