Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | May 27, 2008

I know it’s a bit late to announce my canidacy, BUT!

since this years election is like voting between the lesser of 3 evils….I announce Joe of St. Thérèse is now running for president.

My campaign: To bring common sense solutions to a society lacking common sense.

1. The War In Iraq.

We can all agree that the war was totally unjust and wrong at the time, but fact of the matter is we’re still there. While it’d be nice to be able to withdraw troops and send them home immediately, Common sense tells us we can’t do such a thing, and believe it or not, it has NOTHING to do with the terrorists.

a. We have taken 3 cultures who flat out don’t like one anther (the Sunnis, the Shites and the Kurds) took down the country, and are now left with a situation where the parties are on brink of war with one another. A mistake, the current president missed big time on was the cultural aspect of starting this war.

b. The Iraqi government DOES NOT necessarily have to be a democracy, BUT it MUST protect every one’s natural rights. The ideal form of government is actually a monarchy at the service of those around him. (i.e. the Church). The sooner we realize this, the better. The important thing is that the state not run religion, and religion not run the state as that leads to politics in both involved. But this doesn’t mean Faith should be ignored by people in the public square. I have my own solution, drafting up the Constitution myself and having all 3 parties sign it.

2. Pr0-Life Movement

The ultimate solution is to change the hearts so that no one desires to commit acts against the sanctity of life. However with the hardening of hearts of humans, this at this time isn’t feasible. This doesn’t mean that I will not be teaching about the sanctity of Life from the moment of conception. As this will consist of much of my candidacy, explaining WHY we should be protecting life instead of arguing for it. I will make sure that Roe v. Wade is overturned, AS WELL as putting in amendments that define Marriage as between a Man and a Woman, and doing everything to squash all attacks against Marriage. (i.e. Homosexual “rights”). Now do not think that I’m hating on homosexuals, far from it, it’s because I love them that I don’t want them to commit in their error. It is a disorder which must be treated against. I would thus promote programs such as Courage to help in this battle. Letting them be is something that I can’t do. It’s my mission to help people. Especially if they’re committing evil. Preventing teen pregnancy is as simple as teaching about the dignity that each human being has and making them realize what they’re exactly saying (i.e. Theology of the Body). My presidency will be unprecedented, as I will spend much of it teaching.

3. I’m paying way too much for gas.

$4. 17, sound familiar? not under my presidency. The gas tax will be suspended for worst driving months (summer and winter). My push will be for the oil companies to keep prices down if they do so, more people will be inclined to drive, and when they’re inclined to drive, overall you will make greater profit, even if you lose some in the beginning. I’m going to push for $2-3 dollar range for gas at ALL times.

Issues I’ll cover next week: Education, Faith in the public square

I’m Joe of St. Thérèse, and I approve this message.

Leave a Reply

Categories

