Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | September 28, 2008

The moment at Catholic Underground which bears repeating

As a mathematician, physicist, and amateur theologian, it is always the little things that most interest me. I care about the details like no other person you’ll ever meet.

After being at Adoro’s blog and reading her latest entry…(she’s even got her own category named after her, lol)…and learning a little about her brain, i figured i’d share a little about mine.

Last Saturday the 20ths, was Catholic Underground at St. Victor’s in Hollywood. For those of you that aren’t familiar, Catholic Underground is an event where they have Adoration, Liturgy of the Hours, talks, as well as some entertainment for young adult Catholics. I encourage all of you that are in Ca to go. The next one will be October 18ths (2 days after my b-day).

Anyways, back to the story…I was at Adoration, praying my traditional prayers in Latin and such. When I was exiting the pew, I did genuflect to the Tabernacle. I ran into a friend of mine that I’ve known for a while. In complete shock, I embraced her for the short period of time. And we walked out of the Church.

I had the chance to look into her eyes again, and what came to this person’s mind? The love of God, and the mystery of the Most Holy Trinity. My mind literally went blank for a few moments there being caught up in the moment. We talked for a short bit and caught up on life and how things were going. And to avoid any confrontation, I humbly did NOT sit next to her when the comedian was on stage. (She was actually quite funny, forgot her name, but she’s performing somewhere, forget where, I wasn’t taking notes :))

So afterwards we talked again, and I swear, I don’t make this up for dramatic effect, but I swear she held me for 5 min. when she went to embrace me again. So you ask: what was going through my head.

Answer: The love of God at that very moment. I don’t know how exactly to describe it, but at that moment it felt like the embrace that you feel during Confession (I don’t know if you guys go through the same process), but I know for myself, like being in the arms of Jesus confessing the wrongs that I have done and awaiting that fresh start. You may ask me, I was just at Adoration, didn’t you feel anything then? Well, to be honest, no. A sense of yes, everything’s better and refreshment sure, but those are normal for me. I don’t know what got into me that moment, but my mind was completely Trinitarian for the entire time of the embrace. I’d call it a good thing. Pope John Paul II in his Theology of the Body talks talked about the body making visible what’s invisible. I’m going to take an extension at this and say that since human life is a reflection of the Trinity, the embrace is a reflection of the Trinitarian communion. (Here’s my attempts at theology again). CCC 237 states:

The Trinity is a mystery of faith in the strict sense, one of the “mysteries that are hidden in God, which can never be known unless they are revealed by God.” To be sure, God has left traces of his Trinitarian being in his work of creation and in his Revelation throughout the Old Testament. But his inmost Being as Holy Trinity is a mystery that is inaccessible to reason alone or even to Israel’s faith before the Incarnation of God’s Son and the sending of the Holy Spirit.

And by no means will this entry attempt to even explain this fact, but the way that I see things…If sexual intercourse is a participation in creation, and the human bodies are reflections of the Trinity, what must the hug represent? The Trinitarian Communion. Yes, I know, it’s one hug, and yes, it’s a small thing to many people. But for that very split second there, I understood more about the Trinity, than I’ve ever taught these 5 or so years in catechesis 🙂

Thus I pray that all of you are able to have a moment when something just makes sense….Holy Mary, Mother of Chastity, intercede for us that we’re able to be pure of Heart. Amen!

Leave a Reply

Categories

