Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | April 1, 2009

Liberal Re-education Part I: 1st Amendment of the Consitution

In my attempts to make sure all of you have been washed clean from your liberal education, I’ll be starting this series called Liberal re-education. Reforming everything you’ve learned in school to what actually happened.

The first amendment states the following:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

Of course in your liberal classes your teachers probably told you that free speech means you can say whatever you want, do whatever you want (And probably seperation of Church and state too). Either that, or they told you something to the chagrins of free speech is only free when you agree with the government (which there’s an element of truth to that, with nobama and his fellow worshipers). For those of you that learned this, you should go ask for your money back, or ask for a deep apology from your teachers, I’m sorry about their incompetence…

Now time for the re-education by breaking down the parts of amendment.

a. Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion…

In short there can be no official religion of the UNITED STATES. i.e. The national religion of the United States can’t be Catholicism (though it should be, but that’s another rant for another day)…(though technically…there is an official religion which is the sacrificing of human babies in the name of “choice” but again, another rant for another day)

Notice the non existence of the separation of Church and state. It only says that Congress shall NOT establish a religion. So let’s understand the clear implications of this.

  • Faith and Politics are not meant to be separated by the Constiution. So none of this “I’m personally opposed to abortion, but I can’t impose my Faith on other people” is allowed by the Constitution.
  • The states, if they so choose could establish an official religion
  • You all can add more fancy details

b. prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press

To explain what this does NOT mean, let me give an example.

Eg: I am the absolute authority at this blog. I have comment moderation on. Being the fact that this blog can be considered to be my property (well, which it is)…(And just in case you forgot, the principles were originally, Life, Liberty and Property, until someone later changed it to the pursuit of happiness). Since this is my property I have the authority to set the boundaries for what goes on at this blog. It is not a violation of your free speech rights if I don’t post your blog as well it’s mine plain and simple. You do NOT have the right to express your opinions here, but I give you liscence to do so since I’m generous 🙂

Eg 2: Some people wonder why it’s illegal to make threats and extortions, do you not have a right to free speech as listed above? Well, here’s the quick answer, since your Life is in danger, it’s the government’s job to protect such. (We’ll get into it later how the Constitution establishes a limited government, but that’s discussion for another day)

  • The fairness doctrine, as some have tried to promote would actually be in violation of this amendment simply because of the 2nd principle. Liberty. Freedom to express your opinon. Basically if people like what you have to say they’ll listen to you, if they don’t, they won’t. As I like to say life isn’t fair, if it was, I’d have absolute authority over the universe and that’s not going to happen.
  • Moreover, freedom of the press does not mean having to be PC on everything. Hence at my blog, I make no intentions about being fair (because I’m not) and balanced (because I’m not trying to be) nor do I make any doubts about my agenda (yeah, I have one, what you going to do about it?)

c. or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

  • In otherwords, we run the government, not the otherway around (as it seems today). If we have a complaint, we should let them know. It is afterall a republic. 🙂
  • Peacefully assemble does not mean graffiti everywhere, nor does it mean go out and shoot a bunch of people dead fyi.

This is not intended on being scholarly as mentioned, feel free to continue lies my teacher told me here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

