Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | May 29, 2009

That gay guy who won prom queen in LA

Title brings you to the link, my emphasis and comments

LOS ANGELES — An openly gay teen (Let’s be honest, this is the ONLY reason he won this vote, we call it pity, or the same reason zero got into office) is the new prom queen at Fairfax High School.

Sergio Garcia, 18, was crowned queen (Is it me, or doesn’t being queen involve both a physical and emotional function?..more later) Saturday night at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.

“I feel invincible,” Garcia said wearing his rhinestone studded tiara (There’s only one man that should EVER wear a tiara, and that’s Pope Benedict XVI ;)).

A few days earlier, he gave a speech that touched a nerve with students: “At one time, prom may have been a big popularity contest where the best-looking guy or girl were crowned king and queen. Things have changed and it’s no longer just about who has the most friends or who wears the coolest clothes,” Garcia told a gymnasium full of seniors. (Even in HS I wouldn’t of bought this, for me, when I was in HS, I didn’t care about being popular (being one of the smartest kids in school took care of the popularity issue (that and screwing up the curve, LOL!)..I never worried about the opinions of others (unless they were female, and I liked them, we all know where that led me, lol) queen by definition a girl, not an idiot trying to imitate one.)

“I’m not your typical prom queen candidate. There’s more to me than meets the eye.”

Garcia assured the crowd he wouldn’t wear a dress on prom night.

“I will be wearing a suit,” he said. “But don’t be fooled, deep down I am a queen.” (Right, of course and Angelina Jolie is decked full of testosterone, of course)

Garcia said he saw fliers advertising the prom and the election, and they didn’t specify that the queen must be a girl (Even I could imply that it meant a girl, he wasn’t taught how to critically think (Oh wait, that’s just common sense, never mind, oh wait, that’s been dead), LAUSD showing how great of a school district it is once again). He thought the role would suit him better than prom king.

“I don’t wish to be a girl,” (Well, then why did you run as one?) he told KTLA Jaime Chambers.. “I just wish to be myself. Being prom queen has changed my life and inspired the lives of other students, who are like me.” (Go to the girls bathroom in school, tell me then how you fit in! If you’re going to be a girl go full out, oh wait, you’d be arrested for sexual harassment :))

Senior class president Vanessa Lo said she and many other students were initially against the idea but were won over by Garcia’s speech and became convinced he wasn’t just an attention-seeking clown. (She sounds as drunk as those people on Zero-aid)

“It just goes to show how open-minded our class is,” Lo said. Other students weren’t as happy, and suggested many voted for Garcia just to see the spectacle of two boys dancing together at the prom. (Exactly right, that, and people felt bad for him because he was gay, the same reason zero got in office, they played the race card)

“I’m not really happy about that,” said 17-year-old Juan Espinoza. “He should’ve run for prom king.” (At least one person stood up)

The school, which sits at the end of the rows of chic shops on Melrose Avenue and was once attended by members of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, has long been a haven for students who would be considered outcasts at many schools (I was an outcast too, self imposed, but an outcast nonetheless)…This is what happens when you subsitute male for female…

Leave a Reply

Categories

