Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | June 12, 2009

So, how did Joe figure it all out?

In short, I didn’t….I was in Holy Hour a few days ago in prayer, when suddenly everything I’ve been going through made sense. (God often times has the most twisted sense of humor, and picks the strangest times to have things make sense)

In case you don’t know this about me, I tend not to see the bigger picture of the things that I go through…(That’s because I’m a details kind of guy)

During Holy Hour, I asked 3 questions

1. Have I been denying my vocation to the priesthood?
2. What do all these rejections have to do with one?
3. To which diocese do you call me to?

Apparently there’s a twist, since I only got 66.7% of my questions answered. (2/3 for us math people)

I shall answer the questions as they were answered in return to me.

2. What do all the rejections have to do with one?

“He who hears you, hears me, he who rejects you rejects the one who sent me” (Lk 10, 16). These words came to my mind during the beginning of my holy hour. I can’t even begin to count the amount of times I’ve been rejected, shut down, turned away for various things.

All is to prepare for the upcoming rejections of those who would be against me. I know ahead of time that there will be MANY against me. (Wait until you see my sweeping reforms…upcoming post, that will explain why I’ll say the things I’m saying now). I do not anticipate my life getting any easier, but harder. I often feel like it’s me against the world. That’s the way it’s supposed to be if we’re Catholics. The world is not our friends, case and point, President Zero and company.

The chief rejection…Or as I call her evil incarnate. What does she have to do with me? The devil does not like when we choose God. We choose LIFE over death. The fact that I constantly remember her is relatable to the devil’s constant attacks on my soul. The harder I work, the more the devil tries to get after me. (Why is it that it now makes sense?). I’m never going to forget her, however, evil incarnate will not win. 🙂

1. Have I been denying my vocation to the priesthood?

In short, yes…I don’t know if any of you have had this, I call it the state of denial, when you try to avoid the obvious. I guess you can say, lying to yourself. For those of you that teach math, it’s kind of like with Algebra I student you tell them that you can’t solve x^2 + 1 = 0. Even though you know the answer to the question is plus minus i. (Though i is really solution to depressed cubic equation, but anyways). I kept trying to push away the will of God for the will of Joe. No more of that, it’s quite exhausting to say the least.

3. To what diocese do you call me to?

I know that I’m not going to be religious priest as there are 3 main factors that helped me figure it out.

a. my personality does not suit such

That is to say, I’m not dependent on community to function. I’ve gone things alone for the majority of my life, and it’s no different now, lol. (This is not to say that support doesn’t help, it does, but it’s NOT at the center of my needs I guess you can say). As the old saying goes, 3’s a crowd, haha.

b. Parish work is my calling.

As mentioned above that community isn’t necessary for me to function, and I like the parish setting to accomplish the work of God. It functions as both specific enough and broad enough. The parish is where I can concentrate my efforts on all things Liturgical and Catechetical. (Knowing it will be an UP HILL battle…though I do not know the Catholics in Montana and how much the “spirit of Vatican II or it’s derivative Liturgical swine flu” has gotten ahold of them.

c. Let’s just be honest, those Joe in cassock comments are very influencing…

The above being said, I do NOT know where I will be, but Great Falls was the first to get back to me….

Pray for me, I need it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

