Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | June 30, 2009

Spirituality and the Holy Liturgy.

My spirituality is very Theresian (or rather, an attempt to be, lol)…And my personal spirituality is always in the way that I pray Holy Mass every week. So I guess I’m giving you some insights. On how I pray the Holy Mass.

a. One of the many rubrics that I think that should be brought back to the Ordinary Form is the priest bowing at the Confiteor. (and while I’m at it, the longer Confiteor too ;))

The reason for this is 2 fold

1. The bowing of the priest at the Confiteor is representative of the priest acting in the person of Christ bearing the weight of the world’s sin, (or rather the congregation’s might be more proper..the Contrititon part in the reason Mass is offered). A key external gesture that highlights the Sacrificial nature of the Mass

2. I think of myself contributing to Father bowing. I look at all of my sins of the previous week, and I’m like I’m putting all that weight on him with just my sins…I’ve got to do a better job of not sinning (of course, what do I then proceed to do, hahaha)

Hence why at the OF Mass, I usually am bowing at the Confiteor (when it’s used)…(Option A, just ignore B-D ;)…A has a sense of sin, the others don’t)

I’m the simple sinner, it’s a good thing we have Grace (theme of next week’s OF Sunday reflection), otherwise I wouldn’t function.

Leave a Reply

Categories

