Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | November 14, 2009

Some Mass thoughts…

“Then Jesus came with them into a country place which is called Gethsemani; and he said to his disciples: Sit you here, till I go yonder and pray. And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to grow sorrowful and to be sad. Then he saith to them: My soul is sorrowful even unto death: stay you here, and watch with me. And going a little further, he fell upon his face, praying, and saying: My Father, if it be possible, let this chalice pass from me. Nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt. And he cometh to his disciples, and findeth them asleep, and he saith to Peter: What? Could you not watch one hour with me? Watch ye, and pray that ye enter not into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh weak. Again the second time, he went and prayed, saying: My Father, if this chalice may not pass away, but I must drink it, thy will be done. And he cometh again and findeth them sleeping: for their eyes were heavy. And leaving them, he went again: and he prayed the third time, saying the selfsame word. Then he cometh to his disciples, and saith to them: Sleep ye now and take your rest; behold the hour is at hand, and the Son of man shall be betrayed into the hands of sinners.” (Matt 26, 36-45)

For those of you that have been to a Pontifical High Mass, will know that there’s assistant priest (MC), a deacon and a sub deacon. At the first Mass (aka. the Last Supper), Ss Peter, James and John were near him acting respectively as the assistant priest, deacon and sub-deacon. These were the same 3 that were called to assist at Gethsemene. (As Tradition holds).

The Priest (alter Christus) enters the Sanctuary with the Assistant Priest, Deacon and Sub-deacon. The Deacon loacated to the right, the Sub-deacon located to the left.

The Mass begins…In Nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti Amen….

Et Introibo Ad Altare Dei…Ad Deum qui laetificat juventutem meum

Judica me Deus et discerne causam meam de gente non sancta ab homine iniquo et doloso erue me…Quia tu es Deus fortitudo mea quare me repulisti et quare tristis incedo dum affligit me inimicus?

Emitte lucem tuam et veritatem tuam ipsa me deduxerunt et auduxerunt in montem sanctam tuam et in tabernacula tua…Et introibo ad altare Dei ad Deum qui laetificat juventutem meum.

Confitebor tibi in cithara Deus Deus meus quare tristis es anima mea et quare contrubas me?…Spera in Deo quoniam adhuc confiteor illi salutare vultus mei et Deus meus

Gloria Patri et Filio et Spiritui Sancto…sicut erat in principio et nunc et semper et in saecula saeculorum Amen

Et introibo Ad Altare Dei…Ad Deum qui laetificat juventutem meum

Adjutorium Nostri in nomine Domini…qui fecit caelum et terram

These prayers represent our unworthiness, and preparation for the Sacrifice, and we listen to the words of Jesus that he prayed 3 times.

et progressus pusillum procidit in faciem suam orans et dicens mi Pater si possibile est transeat a me calix iste verumtamen non sicut ego volo sed sicut tu

iterum secundo abiit et oravit dicens Pater mi si non potest hic calix transire nisi bibam illum fiat voluntas tua

I will not translate any of the previous verses (They’re translated in the Bible Passage above). Jesus did not want to undergo his Passion. Him being fully human. I don’t know about you, but I don’t wish to be crucified. The preparation for Calvary is imminent in both Psalm 42 and the prayers of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemene.

We as Catholics believe Calvary is made ananmesis at every Mass. I’ve been reading reflections on Holy Mass, Jesus, live in me by Fr. Martin OFM in the Spirit of my patroness, St. Therese. I found these and thought that I should share my reflections upon them.

As we remember from the Bible, Ss Peter, James and John fell asleep. Sometimes I think that all of us fall into that mode at Mass where we fall asleep before Our Lord or at the mysteries of Calvary at every Mass. I simply pray these words…

“O Most Holy Trinity, who dwellest in my soul, by Thy grace, sanctify me!”

More next week 🙂



Leave a Reply

Categories

