Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | December 23, 2009

Spirutal Directors, God’s will, authority, Confirmation and Life udates

a. I was having a rather interesting conversation with a friend of mine. We were talking about Christmas presents, and I was saying that God willing may she get everything that she hopes for. My friend responded “I am God’s will for my child” Me, amusing easily was laughing my head off at that comment…but her comment was absolutely right. She IS God’s will for her child…She as the parent acts in what we’d like to call authority.

In the Spiritual Life, if you don’t have one, it’s a good idea to get someone called a Spiritual Director. I actually have 2 Spiritual Directors…(One for the Novus Ordo, and one for the TLM as it really does take 2 different Spiritualities to live out both Masses (as pathetically as I do).

In Rom 13, 1-2, we read “Let every soul be subject to higher powers: for there is no power but from God: and those that are, are ordained of God. Therefore he that resisteth the power, resisteth the ordinance of God. And they that resist, purchase to themselves damnation”

We have those in authority over us for a reason…In the case of Spiritual Directors, they are there to help us discern God’s will for us in our lives (since going at it by yourself is pretty difficult, and God doesn’t exactly go” hey, this is my will for you”)..and that when they give us direction. We in a special way are bound to go with that direction whatever it is. If we don’t follow what they tell us, generally what I’ve found is they end up being right when you go back to them in regards to a situation that you confide in them about.

b. Some may say that I’m ridiculously harsh on my students…I mean how many people do you know who give High School Confirmation students a mid-term? :p The average score was 69.5%, D+, (boosted by 5 “A’s”)

c. God willing I’ll be heading back for a 2 month retreat in Jan..more detail later…

d. I have a short Christmas Message that will be coming out on Christmas for all of you, it’s really short..

Responses

  1. A two month retreat?? Wow! Do be sure to share detail. 🙂

  2. Rachel, detail shall come soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

