Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | February 12, 2010

I was debating about…

Writing a rant on Valentine’s day or actually writing something of substance today…

St. Valentine was a priest during the Roman Persecutions. It was illegal to marry people during the Roman Persecutions, he did it anyway. got caught and got his head decapitated on 2/14.

In the Bible we read the following “Greater love than this no man hath, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” (Jn 15, 13)

This is exactly what St Valentine did, in imitating Christ that he layed down his life for his friends, the members of Holy Church, we’re called to do the exact same thing. The word passion means suffering in the original Latin text. A love that doesn’t involve suffering isn’t a love at all. If love does not involve Sacrifice, then it’s not love at all.

Unfortunately the Christian Message of Love is lost amongst the secular bombardment of Pajamagrams, PP, and various other organizations, where love is being exchanged for lustful desires. Even in the Church, we’ve somewhat sacrificed this by cutting St Valentine from the Calender (though you and I know hallmark got the rights post Vatican II calender).

I thought about relaying the stories of Valentine’s day’s past in my life, but I don’t think you want to hear about 22 years of suffering (Yes, there were 2 St Valentine’s days that actually went well)…And I need not rant on anything at least not for right now.

I hope that you remeber the love that you’re supposed to do guys “Husbands, love your wives, as Christ also loved the church, and delivered himself up for it:” (Eph 5, 25)

As well that none of you get caught up in the materialism that some people promote for this day.

Pax Vobis

Responses

  1. Through all the years, I haven't had many "loves" on Valentines day, but I have always had LOVE. My mom always made it a special day, my dad, even my rotten brothers were a little bit nicer. As an adult, I have had more years alone, then with a partner, but I have always had friends. I love the quote you posted, "Greater love than this no man hath, that a man lay down his life for his friends." Without friends, I doubt I would be here today. I definitely wouldn't have met my husband without friends. And today, my friends sustain me in so many ways. To my friend, Joe, Happy St. Valentines Day!

  2. Danielle: indeed without my friends, i must say i wouldn't be here today either. I always knew in the family i was loved, I guess one of those things that are taken for granted :(A happy St Valentine's Day to you too Danielle 🙂

  3. Happy St. Valentine's Day!

  4. opey124, Happy St Valentine's Day to you too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

