Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | May 22, 2010

So it’s time to get out your pocketbooks :p (I mean prayerbooks)

Because your humble blogger has an announcement to make 🙂

I will be applying to the order of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Mercy, or better known as the Mercedarian Friars. (Well, when I get home, I’ve got to take the application home with me, lol)

The past week has been full of intense discernment and various activities to keep me busy and in union with Our Lord. Thank you to all of you that have been praying for me. Your prayers have been efficacious in my attempts to discern God’s will for my life and discerning my vocation to the priesthood of Jesus Christ.

 I have visited with a few religious orders already, so i do have an idea of what I’m “seeking” for lack of a better word. 

1. Holy Liturgy: Private Mass was celebrated reverently, by the rubrics with the Benedictine Arrangement or Ad Orientem (as on Monday). No monkey business in the Holy Mass, shows me a love of Holy Church which I possess. Something that i had the chance to experience is something called the “Saturday Salve” Where they sing hymns to the Blessed Virgin Mary as well as their founder St Peter Nolasco. In the gorgeous Church of Our Lady of Lourdes (pics to come), there’s this line from the hymn they sing “Tota pulchra es Maria Et macula originalis non est in te. Tu gloria Jerusalem Te laetitia Israel Tu honorificentia populi nostri” (I’ll leave it to you to figure out). The Love of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Our Mother, nearly brought me to tears (bear in mind how hard that’s to do) (of course singing in Latin)…I will be bringing this practice home with me, and singing it every Saturday. (And back again)

2. The Charism of Ransom…Exchanging your lives for the captives held by the Muslims scores points in my book. We often times see suffering as something that’s evil and not good. To offer your life in the way that Jesus offered His is the ultimate love (Ref somewhere in John’s Gospel :p) I often tell others, I suffer so that you don’t have to. I exchange my life for yours on a daily basis through suffering. As much as i complain sometimes about particular things, I would not have them any other way. I’d much rather unite my sufferings to Christ than coast along a smooth highway of bordem. 

3. The Friars. The Friars have been great. The community is close knit and all seeking holiness. Everyone gets along well, and can deal with my sarcastic sense of humor. Fr Mathew is the superior of the household, he’s very relaxed, and not overbearing in any way. 

4. Babe, Bonita, Bernadette, Antoine….The Dogs and the Cats respectively. Yes, I’m an animal lover (you won’t catch me promoting PETA though). I’ve gotten semi-attached to the dogs and cats respectively. Babe loves to play tug of war, Bonita loves to snuggle up on the couch, Bernadette likes belly rubs, and Antoine loves to be chased. 

5. Philidelphia….well, it’s a big city, I’ve yet to see all of it. The Churches here are gorgeous. Especially the Cathedral of Ss Peter and Paul. (again, pictures to come), and many have survived wreckovation. Just like every other super government ran city, some of the views aren’t that great, but unlike a certain place where I live, there exists a sense of home that I didn’t even feel when I was in Montana. Granted it took me a few days to get used to the time change, but once I got the time change down, things ran like clockwork for the most part. The structure of the prayers suited everything. I didn’t have trouble sleeping by any means. 

6. I met a few of the guys that could be entering with me Josiah, who blogs : It’s good to be in the boat of Truth 🙂 with others. I also met Patrick who blogs here

I have several other observations that I made, however I’m just too excited right now. I have formally began the application process right now. 

Please continue to pray for me as I’m going through discernment….

Joe of St Therese, MI, Mercedarian Applicant.

Responses

  1. My Soul is doing backflips for you (I would to, if I could)!
    Congratulations!!!!!!
    You’ll beat me to noviate

    • Thank you Megan, it means a lot to me, you’ve been very supportive. God willing, I hope you’ll be at my first Mass ;)…and I shall fill out my application in front of the Blessed Sacrament.

  2. Another thing I learned – fill out your application in front of the Blessed Sacrament 🙂

  3. Yeah!

    Philadelphia. What a beautiful place for beginings.

    And, what is extraordinary to me is I just found out about this order this past weekend, with a request to pray for Philip Johnson! http://patrickhartmercedarian.blogspot.com/ and http://philipgerardjohnson.blogspot.com/

    In many ways there are too many Christian Hostages. (It seems your order is extraordinary!)

    • Lola, I met Patrick while I was staying with the friars. I think I’ll meet Philip in the fall, the order is wonderful, I’m glad that I’ve found them, thank you for your prayers and support 🙂

  4. I’m happy for you.

    • 🙂

  5. Congrats and how exciting! We will continue to pray for you.

    • Thank you 🙂

  6. Congratulations, Joe! I’ll continue to pray for you. Very exciting!

    • Thank you for your prayers LarryD

  7. I come home from a trip to find this great news from you! I’m glad you’ve found the right place to apply and will pray for your further discernment. Woohoo!

    • See what happens when you go away, you miss a ton :p, We’ll have to do lunch or catch up at St Therese 🙂

  8. I’ll remember your vocation in my prayers, and will let others know to pray for you.

    • Thank you Dave for commenting and remembering me in your prayers, and again thank you for telling others about me.

  9. Congratulations! I will say a rosary for you and your vocation.

    • Thank you for your prayers Jon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

