Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | June 9, 2010

Maronite Servants of Christ the Light

As all of you know Roman is NOT a mark of the Church. The marks of the Church are One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic. The Church has many parts, but one Faith…The Maronite Church (the only Eastern Church WITHOUT an Orthodox counterpart (Al, has corrected me, the Italo-Albanians also haven’t separated) has maintained unity with Rome throughout their history. In their Divine Liturgy they use Aramaic at the words of consecration, Ad Orientem, and no liturgical craziness we see in the Latin Rite too often.

I meant to write about this order earlier, I’ve just been busy adjusting back to “normal time” here at home. Now that I’m semi-adjusted to time, I can write fully again.

From their website: In imitation of Mary, our sisters radiate Christ the Light by offering the gift of their spiritual motherhood to nurture God’s life in the hearts of children, families, and people of all ages through works of mercy in service to the Maronite Church, USA.

Those that are in that whole “sov2” crowd, often talk about service to the poor and doing the works of mercy. Indeed they’re half right. Without foundation in Holy Mother Church and devotion to the Eucharist, that is from Jesus, these works should flow, and not these works from their own merit.

I had the pleasure of meeting the superior Sr Marla Marie, and a couple of the postulants Tresa and Therese (funny, how God seems to put a few of these in my life), while I was up in DC. There’s a joyful youth with Sr Marla Marie and a love for Holy Mother Church. I share a picture below 🙂

Please pray for this order that they may grow in charity ans service to Holy Mother Church, rest assured that they are praying for us :)…I know one of my readers is bi-ritual with the Maronites

Responses

  1. I’m so glad Sr. Maria isn’t alone any more.

    • Me too, I’m glad to know her order has postulants 🙂

  2. Joe, you beat me to the punch. I have been meaning to do a post on them for a while now.

    PS: Depending on how technical you want to be, the Italo-Greek (aka Italo-Albanian) Catholic Church never split from Rome either. There is no Byzantine equivalent for them.

  3. Al, your correction has been added 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

