Posted by: Joe of St. Thérèse | September 4, 2010

What Postulancy isn’t

Somehow there’s this idea that postulancy means that your life is signed away and you can never go back. This is not the case: Let me explain what it is:

Postulancy isn’t even mentioned in Canon Law, isn’t that an awesome fact? (Or not).

Before your postulancy you have visits to the order, where it’s basically check out the order to see if you could live this life. Various things are used to determine whether it’s God’s will that you be there. Your communication with the community, how you blend in with the community, all done implicitly. Whether though your attendence at the prayers and dinner or various other functions. You talk one on one with the director about your feelings and his obvservations. After that you go through these painful things called psych exams. Not that they’re actually painful, just intense. Once that goes, you’re considered for admission, and once you’re accepted, you get invested and postulancy begins.

In Postulancy, you’re not under any formal vows. You are with the community. Each community has its own requirements for what a postulant is to do during his time. As time progresses it becomes more and more like the novititate (which is a canonical year recognized by law). You learn various things to prepare you for the novitiate of the particular order. In my case the Order of the Blessed Virgin Mary. (I’d share details, but I can’t). For those of you wondering:

a. Yes the thoughts that I’ve had haven’t disappeared.

It hasn’t been an oasis of thought disappearance (as I did not expect it to be). The various things that I think still occur. Some of them less often than others. Again, those thoughts I have to keep to myself. But do continue to pray for me I’ll need them.

b. school…is once again back…on top of what we do here at the monestary with classes for the order as well🙂, almost as being double full time student (for those of you that know how hard I work at things, it shouldn’t surprise you)

c. I technically could leave at any time. However the words of one of the brothers stuck to me “stay, God willed you here for a reason” and I agree with the brother. This year is going to be an interesting one. Pray for me as I will for you


Responses

  1. Thank you for explaining that. I was not sure exactly what it was. Glad you are getting accustomed to life there. You are in my prayers. Thank you for the update.

  2. You’re welcome🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

